2013 Annual Meeting

The Heart Society’s Annual Meeting was held on Tuesday, September 24th at the Gaston Country Club. Thank you to Doug Luckett, Interim CEO of CaroMont Health, who provided the program.

The Heart Society is a volunteer driven organization. The support of many dedicated volunteers enables us to provide our programs and services with a paid staff of two, which means more funds are available to meet needs in the community. The Annual Meeting provides a wonderful opportunity to recognize volunteers and businesses who have given of their time and resources over the past year. Walter Gray, President of the Board, presented the following awards.

The 15th annual Gold Heart Award was presented to Nancy Deal. This prestigious award recognizes the contributions of individuals who have significantly promoted the mission and the goals of the Heart Society. Nancy Deal began her nursing career at CaroMont Health in 1992. As a Registered Nurse, Nancy has worked directly with heart patients in the hospital and in outpatient setting. Twelve years ago, Nancy began volunteering with the Heart Society of Gaston County. She was instrumental in the organization of the first Annual Heart Walk, and has been actively involved each year. She has also assisted with the Open Heart Open Golf Tournament securing donations, sponsors and players. Nancy has tirelessly promoted the Heart Society in the community and given her time and financial support to help further the Heart Society’s mission. CaroMont Health and Douglas R. Harris Jewelers were recognized as the co-sponsors of the Golden Heart Award.

The Jennie Craig Watson Award was presented to Barbara Gardin. For the last two years Barbara has enthusiastically participated in the Heart Walk, making it her personal goal to raise more money than any other participant. She achieved this goal by being creative in her fundraising efforts. For example, Barbara is known as a fabulous cook, so she hosted bake sales and special meals at her workplace, Hunter Douglas Window Designs, to raise money and increase awareness about the Heart Walk. She bought and prepared all the food herself and used vacation time from work to make it all happen. Barbara’s efforts resulted in raising almost $3,000 for the Heart Society. She says her motivation was to help other people, especially those who can’t afford their heart medication.

The WA Anthony Award was presented to CaroMont Heart. Dr. Mark Heckel accepted the award. This group of cardiologists supports the Heart Society in a variety of ways. They are very generous sponsors for the Heart Ball, the Open Heart Open Golf Tournament and the Heart Walk. In addition to their financial support, many of them serve or have served on the Board of Directors. They also volunteer their time and expertise to further programs. Examples include: providing the program at special heart health education events, writing articles for the Gazette, serving as the Volunteer Lab Director for the Screening Program and giving valuable input on grant applications.

The WL Balthis Award was presented to Edie Hancock. Edie joined the Heart Society’s Board of Directors in 2001. Over the last 12 years she has supported the Heart Society’s programs and special events in numerous ways. She has served on the Heart Ball and Golf committees, securing sponsors, participants and donors while supporting the events financially herself. While Edie supports each of the Heart Society’s special events, the impact of her dedication on the Heart Ball is endless. Each year, she is a vital part of the planning, set up and wrap up of the event. Edie quickly offers to do behind the scene work. Edie is an exceptional volunteer in that she serves to make a difference and not to be recognized. Her sincere desire is to help the Heart Society and the people who benefit from the Heart Society’s programs. Her selfless volunteerism provides the kind of support that enables the Heart Society to operate with two paid staff, keeping overhead down and making more resources available for programs. Edie also served in a leadership capacity as President of the Board in 2010.

The following special event volunteers were recognized.
Dorothy Cherry Accurso
Gina Ayscue
Kathleen Besson
Steve Campbell
Bryan Farris
Walter Gray
Edie Hancock
Dr. Mark Heckel
Bryan Houck
Dr. Alice Ann Kelly
Darlene Mayhew, Co-Chairperson of the Golf Tournament
Ken Mayhew, Co-Chairperson of the Golf Tournament
Jennifer Philbeck
David Rogers
Jennifer Tamberella
Kim Tidwell
Daniel Tuffy, Chairperson for the Heart Walk
Betty Ann Wittenberg

Dr. Mark Heckel, Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, presented the slate of board members and officers for 2013-2014. Steve Campbell was recognized for his outstanding leadership and volunteerism as the President of the Heart Society’s Board of Directors in 2012-2013.

1201 East Garrison Blvd. Gastonia, NC 28054 Phone: 704-865-1214

Home | About Us | Events | Photo Gallery | Heart Health | Blog | Personal Stories | Contact Us